Australian Capital Territory Now Open for Migration

posted in: News, Uncategorized | 0
Share this page


Government House Australia

Australian Capital Territory Open For Migration

Words by Emma Gallagher and Paul Mc Hugh

Have you ever wondered what’s it’s like to live in Canberra?

Canberra is the capital of Australia and over 100 years old. It can sometimes be named the bush capital because of its nature reserves and ranges of mountains, which adds to the scenery.

Canberra is famous for being the only place in Australia where you can experience a hot air balloon ride and view the breathtaking views, also a great place to enjoy the views of the balloon festival. The area has attracted so much love for balloons that thousands visit for the yearly event to enjoy a skyline full of colour.

For any adventure goers, this is the only city you can skydive over the houses of Parliament.

The ACY hot-air balloon festival

Canberra was ranked one of the loveliest places to visit and live due to vibrant culture, food and wine and its beautiful views and landscapes.

Canberra is perfect of wine lovers with over 30 wineries close to the CBD, what better way to enjoy the summer sunshine and taste plenty of choices. Making use of the local fruit and creating its own wine.

It even has its own NASA Airbase, and there are only another 3 locations in the whole of the world, America, Spain and Milian.

Only 2 hours away you will find snowy mountains so perfect if you love to ski in your spare time.

How can you live in ACT

The ACT Occupation List identifies the skills that are currently in demand in Canberra (for migration purposes). The ACT Occupation List is used to determine the eligibility for ACT support of the following programs:

  • Skilled Regional (provisional) subclass 491 visa.
  • Skilled Nominated (permanent) subclass 190 visa.


The ACT Occupation List effective 1 January 2020, will apply to all Canberra Matrix submitted on or after 1 January 2020. 

If you submitted a Canberra Matrix on or before 31 December 2019, your Matrix score for a nominated occupation is valid for six months.

You can view the list here

The ACT is not the only part of Australia that allows valid applicants to apply, Perth, Western Australia, Northern Territory, Regional Victoria, Regional New South Wales, South Australia and Tasmania all are open to immigration applications.

If you would like more information on getting started on your journey to migrate to Australia, please fill in our Initial Online Assessment form to see if you qualify.